30.04.2020

Arigatou International: Webinar on COVID-19 and children's rights

Arigatou International invites you to the webinar: "The Impact of COVID-19 on Children's Rights and Well-being - The Role of Religious Communities" on May 5th, 15:00 CEST.

The webinar adresses the direct and indirect impact of the COVID-19 national measures on children’s rights and well-being.
The United Nations secretary-general has reported a global surge in domestic-based violence linked to COVID-19, and calls to helplines in some countries have reportedly doubled. Additionally, spending more time on virtual platforms can leave children vulnerable to online sexual exploitation and grooming, as predators look to exploit the COVID-19 pandemic.
When violence occurs, religious leaders and communities have an important role to play to raise awareness about the impact of violence and protection mechanisms, provide counseling to families, and support women and children victims of violence.

The webinar reflects on the role of religious leaders and communities as key influencers of millions of people, and explores concrete examples of faith communities supporting children’s safety and well-being during the pandemic. Panelists are Dr. Najat Maalla Mjid, Special Representative of the UN Secretary General on Violence against Children, Prof. Benyam Dawit Mezmur, Member of the Committee on the Rights of the Child, Dr. Kezevino Aram, Shanti Ashram, President of Shanti Ashram, Rabbi Diana Gerson, Associate Executive Vice President of the New York Board of Rabbis, Rev. Fred Nyabera, Director of Ending Child Poverty, Arigatou International.   

The 90-minute webinar will be held on Tuesday 05 May, 2020 at 09:00 (EST) | 15:00 (CET) | 16:00 (EAT) | 18:30 (IST) | 21:00 (CST), and will include an open round of Q&A.

Register here