23.06.2020

Celebrate URI at 20 Years

The United Religions Initiative (URI) celebrates its 20th anniversary with a Global Broadcast on Thursday, June 25th and Friday, June 26th.

Join the Global Broadcast

Thursday, June 25th

5:30 PM Pacific Time USA (00:30 UTC/GMT)

Friday, June 26th

4:00 AM Pacific Time USA (11:00 UTC/GMT)

10:00 AM Pacific TIme USA (17:00 UTC/GMT)

URI's 20th Anniversary Kick-off Broadcast will be part of World UNITY Week.

URI’s global community is surging with initiatives, new ways to connect, and all kinds of bridge-building actions. URI invites partners and people of interest to create, connect, and celebrate URI’s 20th anniversary in ways that they find meaningful and life-giving. For assistance in implementing your idea, contact Sally Mahé at smahe@uri.org.

Background

In 1993, the United Nations invited the then Bishop of California, Bishop William E. Swing, to host a large interfaith service for their 50th anniversary. He asked himself: "If the nations of the world are working together for peace through the UN, then where are the world’s religions?"
Since then, thousands of people from different cultures and perspectives have shared their visions and worked together to create URI: the United Religions Initiative.  

What emerged was an inclusive Charter that provides a unique, grassroots-based structure and a set of principles for action on behalf of the common good, connecting people across religions and cultures in the service of peace and justice. With the signing of this Charter, the global URI organization was born on June 26, 2000.